Approximately 13 passengers have died, and around 123 passengers have suffered injuries, after an engine and some four coaches of Diva-Sawantwadi Express (train no. 50105) derailed on Sunday morning (4th May, 2014) at around 9:15 to 9.30 AM between Nagothane and Roha stations in Raigad district of Maharashtra.

An Ex-gratia have been announced by Railway Minister Mallikarjun Kharge, which is around

  • Rs 2,00,000/- for those died in the accident,
  • Rs 50,000/- for the grievously hurt and
  • Rs 10,000/- for passengers who suffered minor injuries,

An inquiry has been ordered into the derailment accident by the railways and Chetan Bakshi, Commissioner of Railway Safety will be conducting the inquiry and has arrived at the site.

There were reports that a certain part of the train is stuck inside the tunnel, however, this report is denied by the railway officials saying that the train had already passed the tunnel before such derailment. 

The Rescue Operation had been started, while services on the Konkan Railways Route had been halted, The local Residents have helped assisting in the rescue operation, with transport, water & first Aid.

The Following Details has been Obtained from Konkan Railways Website.

The number of passengers who have been admitted at various hospitals is as follows:

Number of Passengers died

  • 10 at Nagothane hospital
  • 3 at Roha hospital

Number of Injured Passengers

  • 61 injured at ROHA hospital, out of which 35 are male , 23 female , and 3 children
  • 38 injured at Nagothane Govt hospital, out of which 6 are serious
  • 20 injured shifted to Dhruv hospital at ROHA out of which 6 are serious
  • 3 passengers with simple injuries admitted in Primary Health Center at Ambewadi (near kolad)
  • 1 child injured admitted at Wagle hospital at Roha

The helpline numbers on which passengers can contact Konkan Railway are

  • 02352- 228176 / 228951 / 228954
  • 022-27561721 / 3/ 4.

The final number of dead and those injured is likely to vary, as the relief and rescue work is in progress.

The train runs from Diva to Sawantwadi and stops at almost all stations in between.