The National Communal Harmony Awards have been instituted by the National Foundation for Communal Harmony (NFCH), an autonomous body under the Union Ministry of Home Affairs, since 1996. Nominations are being invited for the Awards-2014 from eligible individuals and organizations for their outstanding contribution for promotion of communal harmony and national integration. 

The National Communal Harmony Awards, 2014 consist of a citation each and cash award of five lakh rupees for the Individual category and ten lakh rupees for an Organization. Individuals will be assessed over a ten year period while Organizations will be adjudged over a five year tenure. 

Nominations from competent proposers may be sent to The Secretary, National Foundation for Communal Harmony (NFCH), 9th Floor, Lok Nayak Bhavan, Khan Road, New Delhi-110003 by June 30, 2014. Details may be seen on the Foundation’s website www.nfch.nic.in or obtained from the office of the Foundation. 

National  Foundation for Communal Harmony (NFCH) was set up as an autonomous organisation under the Societies Registration Act, 1860, and registered on the 19th February, 1992 with the main objective of providing assistance for the physical and psychological  rehabilitation of the child victims of communal, caste, ethnic or terrorist violence, with special reference to their care, education and training besides promoting communal harmony, fraternity and national integration. The Home Minister is ex-officio chairman of the Governing Council of the Foundation. The Governing Council decides  broad policies, suggests measures for achieving its objectives and exercises overall supervision over the Foundation. The ex-officio chairman of the Executive Council of the Foundation is the Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs. The management and administration of the Foundation rests with the Executive Council. The Secretary of the Foundation is its principal executive officer.