Whistle Blowers Protection Act, 2011 is an Act of the Parliament of India which provides a mechanism to investigate alleged corruption and misuse of power by public servants and also protect anyone who exposes alleged wrongdoing in government bodies, projects and offices. The wrongdoing might take the form of fraud, corruption or mismanagement. The Act will also ensure punishment for false or frivolous complaints.

The Act was approved by the Cabinet of India as part of a drive to eliminate corruption in the country’s bureaucracy and passed by the Lok Sabha on 27 December 2011.The Bill was passed by Rajya Sabha on 21 February 2014 and received the President’s assent on 9 May 2014. The Act has not come into force till now.

The Whistle Blowers Protection Bill, 2011 was passed by the Lok Sabha on the 27th of December, 2011 and was transmitted to the Rajya Sabha. Subsequently, it was noticed that some of the provisions in the Bill needed a relook with a view to strengthening the safeguards against disclosures which may prejudicially affect the sovereignty and integrity of the country, security of the State, etc. Accordingly, notices for official amendments were given to Rajya Sabha Secretariat from time to time. The Bill was finally taken up for consideration and passing on 21st February, 2014. However, the official amendments which had been given notice of, were not moved during consideration and passing of the Bill and, accordingly, the Bill was passed by the Rajya Sabha without any amendments (i.e., in the same form as passed by the Lok Sabha) on 21st February, 2014. The Bill has received the assent of the President on 9th May, 2014 and has become the Whistle Blowers Protection Act, 2011 (No. 17 of 2014). In view of this, the Whistle Blowers Protection Act, 2011 may require some amendments. The matter is under examination. 

This information was given today by Minister of State for Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Dr. Jitendra Singh in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha by Dr.R.Lakshmanan, Shri Ishwarlal and Shri Shankarlal Jain.